Of Things I Love : Blue & crimson – Gbadegesin Sijuade-Kings

Blue, how I love you

Calmly you showed me nobility

And softly, true serenity

In many hues.

 

Daily, I behold you, high

Far, up in the sky.

Daily, showing me calm

Even when it seems not where I am.

 

I love you blue

For you brought no hurt

Even when others flare hot

You keep me cool.

 

Away from the earth

Far from its brown and dirt

You abound,

In seas without bound.

 

Sapphire they named it

Zephyr, I call it

For in this priceless stone

Your calm abound.

 

 

Dear blue, this I seek to know

For I know not

If you abound at home

Where I shall be, never to rot.

 

 

 

II

 

Crimson, crimson,

Truly, crime you’re known with

But with the rich I see you

If only in their sins.

 

From bottles you pour

And in crystals you’re gulped

For in all life you are, pure

Until they are gorged.

 

Of crystals

Rubies you chose

And of flowers, rose:

To be a sign of passion.

 

In you I was born, both times

But never in you

I seek to return,

Not even in June!

 

All men, saints and insane,

A precious portion of you they contain

Yet, they thirst for others

Not minding to murder.

 

Of green and purple

I shall write

But not until my mind bubbles

And commands my hand!

 

 

-Gbadegesin Sijuade-Kings

 

Follow on Twitter @iAmKingsiju

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Shoshana said,

    Awwwhhh….I love it…well written. Love the simplicity and softness of it…..I particularly like Crimson.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

